Who May Marry?
A male and female person, at least 18 years of age, not nearer of kin than second cousins or cousins of the half blood, and not having a husband or wife living, may be joined in marriage. Both parties must appear at the Marriage Bureau.
Do we need a blood test?
Blood tests are not required in Nevada, and there is no waiting period.
Do we need identification?
Identification is required. Acceptable identification would be a valid Driver's License, a valid Identification Card from DMV, a valid Passport, a Certified or original Birth Certificate with Photo ID.
What if I'm divorced?
You do not need to bring your divorce papers, however, if you have been divorced or your previous marriage has been annulled, the divorce or annulment must be final in the state where granted. You must know the year of the divorce or annulment and where the papers were filed.
What if I am not 18?
Persons 16 years of age but less than 18 years of age may marry only if the person has the consent of:
- at least one Parent - both parents are desirable
- legal guardian(s)
Persons signing as legal guardians must furnish a certified court order showing proof of full legal guardianship to the satisfaction of the Clerk. At least one parent or legal guardian must be present. (no photocopies of documents maybe accepted)
Minors will need an original or certified copy of the birth certificate which lists the name of the consenting parent(s). (no photocopies maybe accepted)
Am I married after I receive my license?
To be legally married, a marriage ceremony must be performed by ANY PERSON AUTHORIZED to perform a marriage in the State of Nevada. Your options are:
- Wedding Chapels
- Independent authorized wedding officiants
- Notary Public
- Commissioner of Civil Marriages or Justice of the Peace
- Military chaplain
One witness to the marriage ceremony is required by law. Brochures and business cards of various officiants are available in the courthouse hallway for your selection.
A marriage license issued in the State of Nevada is valid anywhere in this state. If the license is used elsewhere the ceremony and the marriage are not legal.
How do I get certified copies of my marriage application/certificate?
If the license was purchased in Carson City, you may obtain a certified copy ($15) of a Recorded Marriage Certificate. Please allow 2 weeks for your copy(s) to arrive. All orders are returned via U.S. Postal Service.
By Mail: Please fill in the request form and mail to Carson City Marriages, 885 E. Musser Street, Suite 1025, Carson City, NV, 89701.
In Person: We are located in the Carson City Courthouse, 1st floor. Our address is 885 E. Musser Street, Suite 1025, Carson City. Our hours are 8 AM to 5 PM Monday thru Friday and 9AM to 4PM on Saturdays and selected holidays.
By Online Payment: Go to our online Marriage License Payment Form, fill in all the fields, pay by credit card or electronic check; and then verify you received a confirmation to your email address. Your certified copy will be mailed to you within 3-4 days.
By Telephone with Credit Card (VISA or MC only): Call 775-887-2084 during regular business hours. A transaction fee of $1.50 will be added to the credit card order.
A certified copy of the marriage application may be obtained for a fee of $7.00.
A certified copy of the marriage certificate may be obtained for a fee of $15.00.
A plain copy of either the marriage application or certificate may be obtained for a fee of $1.00.
Cash, Money orders or Cashier's Checks only, no personal checks. Make checks payable to Carson City Marriages.
Where Is The Marriage Bureau Located?
This office is located in the Carson City Court House, 885 East Musser Street, Suite 1025, Carson City, NV 89701. We are open Monday through Friday, 8:00 am to 5:00 pm. Saturday and Holiday hours are 9:00 am to 4:00 pm.
Please check out our Holiday Schedule.
For directions to our office.