Exemption forms available for download:
Surviving Spouse Exemption
Disabled Veteran Exemption
The State of Nevada offers tax exemptions to eligible surviving spouses, veterans, disabled veterans, and blind persons.
How much are the exemptions? The Surviving Spouse Exemption entitles you to $1,230 of assessed valuation deduction for the 2013/2014 fiscal year. Conversion into actual cash dollar savings varies depending on the tax rates; it is approximately $43 per fiscal year on real estate or personal property taxes or up to $49 per fiscal year on the basic governmental service tax portion of your motor vehicle registration.
The Veteran Exemption entitles you to $2,460 of assessed valuation deduction for the 2013/2014 fiscal year. Conversion into actual cash dollar savings varies depending on the tax rates; currently, it is approximately $87 per year on real estate or personal property taxes or up to $98 on the basic governmental service tax portion of your motor vehicle registration. Veterans may pay the exemption amount and donate that portion to the construction and maintenance of a veteran's retirement home.
The Disabled Veteran Exemption amount will depend upon the percentage of permanent service-connected disability:
The 2013/2014 fiscal year amounts for disabled veterans are:
60 to 79% disabled - $12,300 assessed value (approx. $437 property or up to $492 vehicle)
80 to 99% disabled - $18,450 assessed value (approx. $656 property or up to $738 vehicle)
100% disabled - $24,600 assessed value (approx. $875 property or up to $984 vehicle)
The Blind Exemption entitles you to $3,690 of assessed valuation deduction; currently it is approximately $131 per fiscal year on real or personal property taxes or up to $148 per fiscal year on the basic governmental service tax portion of your motor vehicle registration.
When should I apply for an exemption? An application to use an exemption on secured (real) property must be made on or before June 15 for the following fiscal tax year. An application to use an exemption on unsecured (personal) property or motor vehicles may be made any time on or before the date the taxes are due.
How do I apply for an exemption? If you believe you are eligible for an exemption, you may download the exemption application and take it to the Assessor’s Office with the following documents:
Surviving Spouse Exemption: Your spouse's certificate of death. You must have been married at the time of their death and have not remarried. The surviving spouse of a disabled veteran who was eligible for a disable veteran exemption at the time of his/her death may also be eligible to receive the disabled veteran exemption. Proof that you have been a Nevada resident for the past six months.
Veteran Exemption: Separation papers from the United States Armed Forces showing an honorable discharge, entry and discharge dates, and a minimum of ninety (90) consecutive days active duty during one of the following major conflicts:
April 6, 1917 to November 11, 1918
December 7, 1941 to December 31, 1946
June 25, 1950 to May 7, 1975
September 26, 1982 to December 1, 1987
October 23, 1983 to November 21, 1983
December 20, 1989 to January 31, 1990
August 2, 1990 to April 11, 1991
December 5, 1992 to March 31, 1994
November 20, 1995 to December 20, 1996
Or if you served a on active duty in connection with carrying out the authorization granted to the President of the United States in Public Law 102-1, and who received, upon severance from service, an honorable discharge, or Has served on active duty in connection with a campaign or expedition for service in which a medal has been authorized by the government of the United Stares, regardless of the number of days served on active duty, and who received, upon severance from service, an honorable discharge or certificate of satisfactory service from the Armed Forces of the United States, or who, having so served, is still serving in the Armed Forces of the United States, may be exempt from taxation. The amount of assessed valuation that is exempt from taxation is pursuant to NRS 361.090, subsection 1 (some conflicts may require the veteran to fill out an affidavit stating how they served in direct support of that conflict).
Disabled Veteran: Separation papers from the United States Armed Forces showing an honorable discharge, and Veteran’s Administration documentation showing a minimum of 60% permanent service-connected disability.
Blind Exemption: A doctor’s statement verifying your visual acuity does not exceed 20/200 in the better eye when corrected, or your field of vision subtends an angle of 20 degrees or less. Proof that you have been a Nevada resident for the past six months.
For additional information, please call us at (775) 887-2130 or visit the Assessor’s Office.